Friday, July 29, 2011

Order of the Magnolia - Epsilon's Unique Group

Who are members which make up the "Order of the Magnolia", what are the qualifications, what is their purpose? These are just some of the questions heard when I mentioned this unique group in Louisville at the Southeast Regional Leadership Meeting. Is Epsilon unique in this group? No, Mississippi also has the Order of the Magnolia along with many other SER states. Do you as members of Epsilon know about this group of ladies in which I rely heavily on for advice?

The "Order of the Magnolia" consists of past Epsilon State Presidents. Membership into this group comes at the close of a president's biennium. While this group of ladies are present (Head table at state convention) throughout meetings of the state and beyond, they also serve as advisors to the current president in office. Since taking office July 1, several emails have been sent to the "Order of the Magnolia" asking such questions as:
  1. Am I on the right track?
  2. What would you do in this situation?
  3. Are you aware of any reason why this would or would not benefit Epsilon?
Some emails are sent to the group as updates. The experience and knowledge of this group has is priceless, and continuing to utilize these ladies is an investment in our Society. There are currently 16 members: Joanna Pruitt, Edleen Marczak, Ethelyn Gebrowsky, Patricia Bray, Dorothy Akins, Christel Robbins, Virgie Dronet, Maxie Garrett, Betty Westerchil, Mary Ann Hatfield, Beth Dawson, Jerry Malone, Peggy King, Loretta Brehm, Jean Patterson, Cindy Ruel.

A special thank you to members of the Order of the Magnolia for committing to an organization which promotes personal and professional growth of women educators.

No comments:

Post a Comment